​​Welcome to Phi Alpha Theta Beta Iota Chapter

Phi Alpha Theta is the History Honor Society of over 350,000 undergraduate, graduate, and professors of history nationwide. Our mission is to promote the study of history through encouraging research, teaching, publication, and the exchange of learning and ideas among historians. 


President: Ian McLaughlin: ianmclaughling@gmail.com

Vice-President: Tristan Torgersen: tristanot@gmail.com

Secretary: Courtney Lees Cook: leescourtney@gmail.com

Communications: Marc Wein: weinmarcj@gmail.com

Historian: Katie Richards: katiealtar@me.com

Faculty Advisors​

Dr. Christine Isom-Verhaaren: cisom-verhaaren@byu.edu
Dr. Edward Stratford: edward_stratford@byu.edu​​​​​​​​

National Membership Benefits

  • Lifetime membership
  • Eligible for National Scholarships and Awards
  • One year subscription to The Historian, a distinguished quarterly journal
  • Present research at both the regional and national levels
  • Looks great on a resume!

How to Join BYU Phi Alpha Theta Beta Iota

  • Sign up under clubs.byu.edu

How to Join National Phi Alpha Theta

  • You need to have taken at least 12 credit hours of history, and you must have a 3:0 GPA or higher. 
  • Fill out an application​ and submit it to the History Department along with a $55 Lifetime Membership fee.​ ​​​​